top of page

What’s next? Jazz r:Evolution


NE:X:T by David Laborier


One does not have to be a true jazz aficionado to realize that David Laborier’s albums are real musical treasure troves. They are as multi-faceted as jazz music is at its essence. A fixture of the Luxembourg jazz scene since over fifteen years, David has earned a solid reputation as a musician, both in and outside of his home country. His musical activity extends beyond being a guitarist. As a composer and arranger, David has contributed 2 albums to the Orchestre National de Jazz Luxembourg, which were both released on the WPR Jazz record label. His composition “Fast and Furious” from the album “Who’s Afraid of the Big Bad Band” won the 2010 International Songwriting Competition in the jazz category. Three of David’s arrangements were featured on the album “Sings” by Beninese diva Angélique Kidjo with the Orchestre Philharmonique Luxembourg conducted by Gast Waltzing. The album won a Grammy in 2016 in the category “Best World Music Album”.


What’s next? David Laborier, a passionate jazz composer who’s at home in both large and small ensemble settings, releases his fifth album as a leader. NE:X:T features the medium sized sextet format and showcases a musical melting pot of jazz, pop, rock and experimental elements. It is a homogenous co-existence of musical styles resulting in highly accessible colors and atmospheres, rather than giving the listener the impression of an overdone and intellectual arrangement of notes. NE:X:T take the audience to the stylistic edge of jazz music, even crossing all the boundaries of a classic instrumentation made out of Luxembourg native drummer Niels Engel, German bassist Sebastian ‘Schlapbe’ Flach, French saxophonist Pierre Cocq-Amman, Dutch trumpeter Marc Huynen and Dutch trombonist Tim Daemen. Jazz, rock and hip-hop influences open a new musical path to a colorful world of sounds. Each of the players’ individual styles and instrumental approaches shine through David Laborier’s extravagant compositions. The opener “Wes We Can” pays tribute to jazz guitar legend Wes Wontgomery in a cool and relaxed manner, followed up by “Step Right Up!”, a funky up tempo tune featuring some high energy trumpet, trombone and saxophone improvisations. The ballad “The Wait Is Over” explores the band’s acoustic sound, whereas in “Best Served Cold”, the listener is taken to a soundscape made of distorted sounds, the purity of horns and drums combined with electronic loops. “Pendulum” is a contrapuntal construct between the guitar, trumpet, trombone and saxophone, featuring extended solos by Daemen and Cocq-Amman. “Closeness” is a heartfelt ballad conjuring warm and intimate feelings. Hip-hop inspired “Baked Goods” takes a groovy path down acoustic and electronic elements, via oriental flavors, and ending in the openness of the spirit of jazz.


The melodies of the tunes from NE:X:T sure have a contagious quality to them and will surely find an audience beyond the hardcore jazz aficionados.



Album release on WPR Jazz is planned for July 2018

bottom of page